20
Nov
08

Twitter update

If anyone knows the guy/gal that came up with VM snapshots please let him/her know I want to have his/her baby. Thx.

Posted by email from flashkube’s posterous

5 Responses to “Twitter update”


  1. 1 rb
    November 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    VMWare Server or your personal box?

  2. November 22, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Aside from our physical machines, we have about 25 virtualized servers running on 3 ESX boxes at our corp. office here in Tampa. I can control all of them through the VMware Infrastructure Client.

    The one I was working on was our SharePoint server which we recently used to replace our old intranet site. I upgraded Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 to Search Server 2008 Express to give us full-text searching. The reason I love snapshots so much is that I was able to do this upgrade on a production server by creating snapshots throughout the process. I still have some work to do on it tomorrow and I’ll be taking snapshots before and after each major change.

    In the end I’ll have a fully functioning intranet platform based on SharePoint that is capable of full-text OCR searching of most types of documents in the entire site. The best part is we did it for only the cost of a Windows Server license. WSS 3.0 is free and so is SSE 2008. All the IFilters for OCR are also free (except TIFF). I’ll probably be posting a tutorial based on the results. Maybe not here but I’ll link to it if you are interested.

  3. 3 rb
    November 22, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    How did you merge the snapshot to the live image if it was still in production?

  4. 4 rb
    November 22, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    oops rather commit the snapshot.

  5. November 23, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    By “in production” I just meant that the server was in our live environment. In this case I performed the work after hours and was pretty sure no changes were being made to the content of the site. I did have to use one of the snapshots I took because I made an incorrect selection during the setup wizard. Knowing that I had that snapshot to revert to allowed me to try different options without too much risk.

    As a thought experiment: I guess I could have done it during business hours by cloning the VM. When complete, I could have detached the content database from the live VM and attached it to the clone. There would have been some downtime but only a few minutes. Why risk it though, right?


Leave a Reply

