07
Nov
08

lightroom 2 – tip #4

Although I have been using Lightroom since it was in beta testing, I have never really trained myself on all its features and how best to use it.  So I have taken a few shots around the office to use while going through The Photoshop Lightroom 2 Book for Digital Photographers by Scott Kelby.  I love typing out such an absurdly long title.  Tip #4 is actually a long list of tips from my recent reading about the Library module.  After I am finished with the book I will post my new and improved workflow from start to finish.

  • move through the modules using cmd+opt+1 through 4
  • close and open task panels using F5 through F8
  • auto show/auto hide task panels really sucks in practice, turn it off by right-clicking the small toggle triangles and choosing Manual
  • to quickly get an un-cluttered view of your images use shift+tab
  • tab by itself hides the left and right panels
  • t hides the toolbar
  • g always brings you back to the grid view in the library from anywhere in LR
  • f changes the screen modes, I use mine in full screen mode
  • cmd+shift+f removes all distractions
  • use l to go into lights out mode
  • never use stars to rate your photographs, you should only care about the best and the worst, you will waste too much time trying to decide what star rating an image deserves
  • always use flags to rate your photos, p for pick, x for reject, and u to unflag
  • work with photographs by making catalogs out of picks rather than work in folders (why the strikethrough?)
  • use loupe view for making picks, survey view to pick from similar poses or scenes, use compare view when you need to find the absolute winner out of a group of images

On another note, I have come to the realization that I don’t consume enough photography.  How can I grow as a photographer unless I expose myself to the existing art work.  I am going to make more of an effort to experience the photography of other artists and I’ll keep you up to date on how it is going.

0 Responses to “lightroom 2 – tip #4”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

