01
Nov
08

last day of early voting

This morning my wife dropped me off at one of only a few early voting locations in Hillsborough County.  Although my vote had been cast already, I wanted to document this historic election in some way.  Because my 16-85mm hasn’t arrived yet, all I had with me was a 50mm f/1.8 and a 70-300mm f/4.  Despite the missing range, I am pretty happy with these.

These lenses were not nearly wide enough to capture the length of the line of voters.  It stretched from the library all the way to a high school parking lot next door.  It was quite a powerful statement to see people so willing to wait to make their voices heard.  Based on what I saw today, I predict Tuesday is going to be an absolute nightmare nationwide.

If you have not read my earlier post about voter fraud, I recommend following the links in it, especially to the Bill Moyers piece, so that you are not surprised by the obstacles voters will face on the 4th.

 


6 Responses to “last day of early voting”


  1. 1 Helen
    November 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    It is not fair that Democrats who tend to dominate in urban areas are allowed to have almost 2 weeks of early voting. The suburbs and rural areas who tend to vote Republicans only have one day to vote, thus imagine if there was bad weather or the like on that one day.

  2. November 2, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    The schedule for early voting is set at the state level. The idea that Republicans in rural areas are disenfranchised when compared to Democrats in urban areas is simply not true. I believe you were misinformed. Check out the following site to find out about the laws in your state:

    http://earlyvoting.net/states/abslaws.php

    It is true that some counties, for example, limit the number of polling places to suppress the vote. In this election cycle, though, that tactic is being used exclusively by Republicans to disenfranchise lower income voters who tend to vote Democrat. See my earlier post on voter fraud fear-mongering for more information.

  3. 3 DO
    November 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Helen – get out and vote – especially if you are voting for McCain we need you!!!! BTW DL I found a site for you to check out. http://www.culturejamforlife.com/nobama2008/

    BTW the tax pay that Obama wants to in-act is getting closer and closer to 100k per year. It started at $250k now it is down to $125. Granted I will be hit by this increase but I am not struggling and don’t have a home loan that I am tied too unlike some other folks that might have there taxes increased. Scarey. Oh well.

  4. November 2, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    There is some really hateful propaganda on that website DO. Do you believe those things? Hopefully, you were just trying to get a rise out of me. I don’t mind reasonable, intelligent, and thoughtful debate on the issues, but that was just shameful. There is no reason to defend against those attacks (although I will admit that the poster in number 29 is clever).

    I’m not sure where you are getting your information about Obama’s tax plan. It is clearly stated on his website:

    http://www.barackobama.com/pdf/taxes/Factsheet_Tax_Plan_FINAL.pdf

    You can even use the tax calculator to get an idea of what it means for your family:

    http://taxcut.barackobama.com/

  5. 5 DO
    November 2, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    DAMN! Foiled again! Ok you got me CO asked me what I was doing – I replied “messin with DL”. After she hit me she said “why do you like bothering him so much.” I replied “cuz it is fun.” :)Hero’s tomorrow?

  6. 6 DO
    November 2, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    BTW my favorite is 18!


Leave a Reply

