16
Oct
08

development as therapy

“Glass” – 1/250, f/5.6, ISO 180, 260mm

On my lunch break I spotted these piles of glass down the street from where I work and became obsessed with them.  At the time, the sun was high and the glass was sparkling brightly like so much glitter.  One day I had a few extra minutes and decided to sneak some shots.  Unfortunately, the clouds blocked out the sun just as I was pulling in.  I photographed them anyway, thinking that I would experiment with composition until a more sunny day presented itself.  Once they were in LR 2, I converted to grayscale and played with the contrast, exposure, and blacks until what you see above appeared.  Prior to coming up with this image I felt there was more to capture.  Now I feel finished with the subject and have lost the hunger to shoot more.  The development stage of photography can be therapeutic in the face of obsession.

0 Responses to “development as therapy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

