11
Aug
08

in search of conservative comedy

A funny thing happens when you have something on your mind. Situations and events jump out at you that are related to that something. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about political comedy.  Don’t ask me why.  It just suddenly occured to me that there isn’t any conservative comedy out there that comes close to the quality of progressive comedy. I did a google search for conservative comedy and there wasn’t a single funny link on the first page of results.  I found something from YouTube called “NewsBusted” which I believe is a home-based production using canned audience laughter.  There was also something called “The 1/2 hour News Hour” put out by Fox that is reportedly their answer to “The Daily Show.”  It was not only aweful but it seemed to use the same canned laughter as the first one. This in the face of Maher, Colbert, Stewart, Carlin, Gerafalo, Franken, and on and on.

The other day I was at a friends house and we were watching television.  While trying to decide what to watch I mentioned that I was in the mood for comedy.  He flipped through the on-demand stuff and came across Penn and Teller.  Now, everyone knows that Penn and Teller are a comedian/magician duo out in Vegas who sometimes make appearances on television.  But, did you know that they have strayed from their charming and hilarious act in an attempt to make political humor?  In fact, their show “Bullshit” has been on for six seasons! “How did I miss this,” I asked myself.  And then I sat through some of it.

The episode I saw was called “Being Green.”  Let me try to sum it up for you. Penn and Teller were attempting to make the point that because many so-called green products don’t actually help the environment, global warming isn’t real.  The other argument they made was that because Al Gore is a huge polluter, global warming isn’t real.  Oh, and I can’t forget the woman who heals people’s “green guilt” through some kind of weird group councilling mumbo jumbo.  And, by the way, her existence means that global warming isn’t real. In an attempt to give their arguments credibility, they interviewed a weather man. No, I’m not kidding. An actual stand-in-front-of-a-map-and-point-at-it-with-a-stick weather man. And after each point Penn would say “Bullshit” loudly with a mean look on his face. I think right there is where the audience is supposed to laugh. But instead, right there is where I realized why I had not heard about this show. It simply wasn’t funny. And its not because I disagreed with what was said.  It just wasn’t witty, smart, or timely.

Of course, their points are the classic corporate arguments that are meant to divert attention from reality.  Its like, “Look! Over here at these hypocrites, opportunists, and wackos!  Don’t look over there at all those scientists that don’t seem to be debating at all whether global warming is real and caused by humans!” The fact is that there is really no disagreement in the scientific community about global warming and its causes. But then again, some still argue that evolution is “bullshit.”

It is quite clear to me now that the most intelligent and wity comedy is that which comes closest to the truth.  I welcome any suggestions that might change my mind.

NOTE:  The above photo was found at failblog.org.  One of the comments was something like “Oh shit.  Ohio is screwed.”  Funny on so many levels!

5 Responses to “in search of conservative comedy”


  1. 1 rb
    August 12, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    “The fact is that there is really no disagreement in the scientific community about global warming and its causes.”

    There is no doubt that global warming is occurring however there is much disagreement within the scientific community over exactly much influence humans have had. Man-made global warming has only recently (last 10-15 years) had the alarmists ringing the warning bells. These same alarmists were reporting on “the earth’s climate seems to be cooling down” in Newsweek, April 28, 1975. Drastic food shortages were predicted and economies collapsing, which of course never materialized.

    There is a lot of dissenting opinion’s on this matter and I for one do not buy the human only or human majority cause.

    Check out the articles below, pretty good.

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article1363818.ece

    Sixteen piece:
    http://www.financialpost.com/story.html?id=c47c1209-233b-412c-b6d1-5c755457a8af

  2. August 13, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Thanks for your comment RB. My response is in my latest post.

    Did you end up purchasing a camera yet? If you are still on the bby payroll there are some great Nikon accommodations. Can’t blame me for trying to get you out of that Olympus. ;)

  3. 3 DO
    August 13, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Yes – I remember now. I think this is when you and your beautiful wife looked at me and said “lets find something else, this isn’t funny”:

    The other argument they made was that because Al Gore is a huge polluter, global warming isn’t real.

    Darn Gore and is pollution! Maybe if he scaled back is his to 14 bed rooms instead of 20 he wouldn’t have to buy carbon credits from himself :) I also fixed your type o in that last line – its argument not arguement. I only know this because I put this in word and it fixed it for me :)

    I am only joking….. or am I?

    http://www.huppi.com/kangaroo/L-ozone.htm

  4. 4 DO
    August 13, 2008 at 1:11 am

    BTW – “there isn’t any conservative comedy” BECAUSE conservatives aren’t funny – just there views hehehe…. It all depends on the wind direction and ozone levels :)

    just so you know i couldn’t stop laughing while i was typing this……….

  5. August 13, 2008 at 7:00 am

    [Yes – I remember now. I think this is when you and your beautiful wife looked at me and said “lets find something else, this isn’t funny”]

    Actually, it was YOUR wife that said, “Why do you keep putting things on that you know are going to get Dan riled up?” And then she smacked you. LOL I must note here that, just a few minutes before, you almost made me watch Charlie Wilson’s War (a film glorifying the man who, in the 80s, had the CIA arm the Muhajadeen in Afghanistan and invite Bin Laden and his gang to fight the Soviets).

    Thanks for the spelling correction.


Leave a Reply

