08
Mar
08

Baseball

The Yankees played the USF Bulls on opening day of spring training.  The only scoring play for South Florida was a grand slam in the 6th by a pinch hitter.  The final score was 11-4.  I’m not a big fan of baseball but I do enjoy going to a game once in a while with my Dad, especially when the weather is as nice as it was for this one.

While most hardcore baseball fans would choose images of the game being played, these represent what I see.  They were all taken from our seats except for the first and last (these were taken from vacant seats in corner of the stadium).  Let me know what you think. 

It has been too long since my last post but this does not mean I haven’t been photographically active. Please stay tuned for further posts of my recent shoots.  Also, check out olivia.thelucaslife.com for more.  ;)

 

 

I wonder who they are so interested in… 

 

My brother is a huge Yankee fan and told me that the first photo of Jeter above wasn’t very good.  I tried to explain to him that candid shots are unique but he insisted that this one is better. 

 

You don’t want to know the symbolism I see in these soldiers all tugging at the flag.  The jury is still out on this one.  I may come back and remove it later.  Sometimes I need some distance from images before placing value on them.  Funny how that works.  It happens with my writing also. 

Four of these special forces guys jumped out of a plane over our heads and landed on the field.  I wasn’t prepared but was able to snap a few decent shots.  This one is the best I think. 

My Dad and I grabbed these vacant seats at the end in what appeared to be an all USF section.  My Dad’s season tickets are about 10 rows down from the S in the Yankees banner pictured here.  All but this and the first image were taken from those seats.  The 70-300mm is nice piece of glass.  A nice piece of glass indeed.

 

 

3 Responses to “Baseball”


  1. 1 rb
    March 9, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    first! quality work man. I like both Jeter pics, but the yankees are stank :P I like the umps chatting in front of the pristine infield.

  2. 2 flashkube
    March 9, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    thx RB. You are in for it though with the Yanks bashing. I must admit that the umps photo was a creative crop after the fact. Sometimes you know something is there so you pull the trigger but it doesn’t come out till later. This kind of shoot first ask questions later approach is taxing on megapixels!

  3. March 10, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Sorry man, the first one just doesn’t appeal to me. If you snapped one of him blowing a bubble with his gum (like he usually does) that would have been a good one. You will have to let your guard down and let me see the rest of the pictures from this game, even though they aren’t “UP TO PAR” with the pics you actually post.

    …. And I’ll keep my mouth shut (this time) about the “thoughtful” Yankees comment.


Leave a Reply

