21
Feb
08

Questions

The most interesting fine-art photography compels the viewer to ask questions. By that I mean specific questions, not just about the meaning of the piece. If all one can ask is “what is it” then the artist did not place herself in the shoes of the audience. What questions would you ask about the photograph above?

No really, I’m awaiting your answer with bated breath.

7 Responses to “Questions”


  1. 1 DO
    February 26, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    HEY what happen to my post?

  2. 2 flashkube
    February 27, 2008 at 12:16 am

    It annoyed me.

  3. 3 do
    February 27, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    are you serious? did you sensor my post? OMG?!?!?!

  4. 4 DO
    February 27, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    FINE! CO just yelled at me and said that i shouldn’t have asked silly questions! PFFT! What does she know? Ok so here are my seriously questions:
    How much editing did you have to do the get the shading just right if any at all?
    I have heard that with children you should be at the same height as them to capture their full expression – do you fill this to be true?
    Do you think shooting a subject that this level makes the subject seem bigger then life?
    It is interesting that you choose to shoot the subject off center – it seems to add more to the photo – was this your first attempt with this shot or did you shot this straight on and then decide to change it?

  5. 5 flashkube
    February 28, 2008 at 12:34 am

    LOL. First, that is Susan giving Olivia a bath. Second, I meant questions about the subject not about photography. Thank you kindly for that attempt to be serious. : )

    If I had seen this photograph I might have asked:

    *Who is that woman, is she weeping on the floor, getting sick or what?
    *More importantly who is watching her (ie. who is behind the camera)?

    Anyway, thanks for your comment.

  6. 6 rb
    February 29, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    It looks like a small kid standing in front of the vanity wondering what it will be like to be as tall as mommy and daddy.

    Thats just my thought as I do not know the orientation of your bathroom.

  7. 7 flashkube
    March 12, 2008 at 1:41 am

    To answer your question about the orientation of my bathroom:

    It is straight. HAH


Leave a Reply

