20
Jan
08

City In Motion

No lengthy paragraphs about my breakfast. No story about my day. Just the motion that I observed today and some short captions.

hhhhh
This and the first photograph were taken during a relatively slow time at Grand Central Station. I wanted to capture rush hour but it is Saturday.  I was asked by a worker to finish up quickly because I wasn’t supposed to be on that balcony.
HHHH
HHH
As you can probably tell I brought my tripod with me today. It was surprisingly light and nimble. My shutter release cable was also in use for the photographs in this post to reduce camera shake.
HHH
HHH
This is the Museum of Natural History, right across the street from the southern edge of Central Park. We actually arrived through a subway tunnel on the lower level but made this special trip out in the cold to get this. If you have ever seen the film Night at the Museum you would recognize some of the exhibits. YUM YUM GUM GUM….DUM DUM.
HHH
8 Responses to “City In Motion”


  1. 1 DO
    January 20, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Hey, so i was noticing that all these shots are on a slight angle. is there a reason that you are doing that? Or, is it that all the building in NY are on an angle? :) I really like the 1st and 4th photos. Do you have the 2nd one without the longer delayed exposure?

  2. 2 flashkube
    January 21, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    The angle just makes the image more interesting and I wanted to be consistent with this series. No, I was only going for the motion effect but I’m sure I could digitally remove all of the blurry people.

    There is so much in that first one that I love; the sign above the hallway, the glowing clock over the round information booth, the sea of shadowy figures, the man at the booth wearing the only white jacket, etc. I love the woman at the bottom. Is she waving at someone at the top of the stairs? Is she taking a photo of the large arched windows? Is she looking at her watch?

  3. 3 do
    January 22, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    i think you need a wide angle lens next. I would like some photos on my wall that take up a large % of it :)

  4. 4 flashkube
    January 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    can’t get much wider than 18mm. Any of these would blow up nicely on a wall though. Would you have me buy a fisheye lens?

  5. 5 do
    January 23, 2008 at 1:04 am

    sure…. what is it? i know susan doesn’t mind when you spend money on your hobby so we should go buy it this weekend.

  6. 6 rb
    January 23, 2008 at 8:22 am

    It’s the peep hole view essentially. Here is a wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fisheye_lens.

    Awesome pics Dan! I especially like the second picture for its perspective on the size of GCS. That place is HUGE…those windows are like 50ft tall or something.

  7. 7 flashkube
    January 23, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks for the kind words RB. Doug, to see how wide a fisheye lens is just go to my property listing:

    http://buyowner.com/TPA63429.html

    Click on the 360 degree views link. The entire 360 photo was taken in 2 exposures!!

  8. 8 eh
    January 26, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Awesome shots dude! :D


Leave a Reply

