19
Jan
08

MoMA – Museum of Modern Art

hhh

This time I ordered a custom triple egg omelet. It was delicious. The coffee was horrendous again. Susan headed across the street to work at the usual time. Olivia and I left for MoMA after breakfast (Grand Central to 6 to E to 53rd). We arrived at around 11:30am and the first hour was spent on baby maintenance.

The camera was on my shoulder, the baby was stowed, and I was happy to finally be where I had intended to be on Wednesday. The travel guides recommend starting on the 6th floor and working your way down, but when the elevator doors opened the place was empty so we began on the 5th. After a while I stopped at the cafe on the 2nd floor. Delicious!

The artwork here is varied and numerous. By the time Susan met us at 3:30pm we were only halfway through the exhibits on the 3rd floor. We were able to finish up before our hunger grew too strong. We walked and walked and walked and finally ended up at a very nice seafood restaurant. By the time we got back to the hotel my legs were spaghetti.

The above image is a piece in the sculpture garden. I liked the blurry museum goers in the background and the way her hand seems to be pushing against my composition. All but the first photograph below were taken at the museum:

hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
This was shot close to the subway exit near the museum.
hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
HHHHHHHHHHHHH
This was my favorite sculpture. Apparently these are busts of the same subject. Olivia got hungry before I could read the card.
HHHHHHHHH
HHHHHHHHHHHH
I was standing on a 4th floor balcony overlooking some large sculptures when I noticed this window and staircase directly across the museum. This one is my personal favorite for the day. Susan and Olivia were kind enough to be my models. I was on the phone with her setting the scene. When I looked up from my viewfinder there was a crowd around me all taking the shot with their own cameras. I watched them for a few moments and then went to relieve Susan.
HHH
HHH
I know…it was too easy. But, I just had to snap the classic Warhol soup cans!
HHH
HHH
The wiry trees in the sculpture garden were fantastic. I’d love to have one of these in my yard.
HHH
HHH
A view of the first 4 floors of MoMA through one of my wiry trees. ;)
HHH
HHH
This is a ladder that starts a few feet above the floor of the lobby and extends to the ceiling of the third floor. You are looking at the bottom of it. The top eventually tapers off entirely and gives the appearance of being infinite. Thought I would take a stab at my own abstract with this photograph.
HHH
HHH
This was far and away my favorite contemporary piece. I just cracked up. If you can’t read the VHS tapes on top of the VCR they are labeled with the days of the week. Guess which tape is missing. HAH
HHH
3 Responses to “MoMA – Museum of Modern Art”


  1. 1 DO
    January 19, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Is that a Church or the subway entrance? The one with Suzi and Olivia in it reminds me of one of those optical illusion pictures. The one with the stairs in fact.

    VCR and Tube TV- its amazing what they consider art – but the concept has to be my favorite at the moment

  2. 2 flashkube
    January 20, 2008 at 3:16 am

    No, that is not the museum. If I remember right, the sign said St. Thomas.

  3. 3 rb
    January 23, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Yea I’m pretty sure it is St. T. I’ve been inside, the place is amazing. It is HUGE, almost cavernous. You can take no-flash pictures and this makes it difficult to capture the grandeur. Of course your tripod would overcome that.


Leave a Reply

