17
Jan
08

Florida Aquarium

Believe it or not, I’m writing this from my hotel room in midtown Manhattan. There is a quick shot at the bottom with proof of this. More on that later.

These photographs were made last weekend at the Florida Aquarium in Tampa, FL. Low light with no tripod is difficult. My fancy new flash was useless because there was nothing with which to bounce light. And, of course, a flash will ruin most exposures through aquarium glass.

Recently I purchased a Wacom Intuos3 4×6 tablet. These edits were my first using this new toy. I’m very impressed by the control it affords. I’d recommend it to anyone using Photoshop, although it doesn’t do much in Lightroom.

My wife is attending software training at her company’s corporate office here on 42nd and 3rd. We are in a hotel across the street on the 25th floor. My baby daughter Olivia and I went for a long walk down to Times Square which she loved. This was a kind of test to see how she would fare in the big city. After my wife got off of work we bought a couple of metro cards and rode the subway to B&H. Unfortunately, the gigantic photography store was closed already, so we strolled 7th and Broadway taking in the sights, sounds, and smells of Times Square at night. Olivia and I will be museum hopping Thursday and Friday so I think I’ll have some real beauties to post shortly. Stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Florida Aquarium”


  1. 1 rb
    January 17, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Funky looking owl. Have fun in NY! Try and get to the aircraft carrier that Will Smith hit golf balls from if you can. I’ve been to NY once, only had 6 hours to spend so we ran around. Enjoy the next couple of days. Pictures are impressive as always.

  2. 2 Ryan
    January 17, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Dude, I can’t believe you went to NY without me. What is your problem man, you know I love that place. If you have time, you have to go to Yankee Stadium and get a picture of it with that hell of a camera of yours. Google maps says you are about 8 miles away from it and they estimated 20 min ( not during rush hour). I’ll even pay you for the picture if you mat it and everything. We can discuss price later.

    Well have fun, and don’t forget to take pictures of Olivia’s first trip to New York.

  3. 3 flashkube
    January 18, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Randy wants me to go to some golf ball ship, my brother wants me to go to Yankee stadium, and my Dad wants me to go to his alma mater. Damn! Haven’t you people ever heard of Orbitz.com? ;)

    Thanks for the comments guys.

  4. January 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Enjoyed your photos from The Florida Aquarium. I am the PR Manager there and was curious if you’d contact me about usage rights. Enjoy New York.

  5. 5 DO
    January 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    WOW “Enjoyed your photos from The Florida Aquarium. I am the PR Manager there and was curious if you’d contact me about usage rights. Enjoy New York.

    Tom Wagner said this on January 18, 2008 at 9:40 am ”

    Mr. Dan is going big time on us!!!! WOOT


Leave a Reply

