04
Nov
07

Epson Stylus PHOTO 2000P

A friend of my wife and I let me borrow her wide format printer last week. Until now I’ve just been staring at it hoping that wide format paper would magically appear in the loading tray. Today I decided to get off my duff and pick up some 13×19 archival matte paper. The only Best Buy that had it in stock was out of the way but it did give us an excuse to use our Florida Museum of Photographic Arts membership. The prints of Clyde Butcher’s Cuban landscapes made my heart race a little knowing that I would be making my own large prints shortly. The retail price for 50 sheets of Epson Archival Matte Paper is about $55 plus tax. Coincidentally it was on clearance for $10. I walked out of that store with 100 sheets and a smug look on my face.

After fiddling with nozzle checks, head cleanings, and q-tip swabbing, I made the print shown in the above photograph. The books are right; there is nothing like holding a large print of your own work. The 2000P is capable of 13×19 borderless printing. That is to say that the entire sheet pictured above could be printed on with no margins. The weighted faux mat border was just for testing purposes.

Another photography related discovery I made today was a little frame shop that I happen to pass by every Saturday. They are cutting a new mat for a charcoal picture that hangs in my study. If it looks professional I’ll be using them to cut mat for my photographs as well. I’d love to buy and cut mat myself but the cutters are prohibitively expensive.

 

 

4 Responses to “Epson Stylus PHOTO 2000P”


  1. 1 rb
    November 5, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    DUDE YOU SHAVED AND GOT HAIRS CUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What happened to you!?

    Nice print btw, how much do those printer’s normally run?

  2. 2 DO
    November 5, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    DUDE WTF IS WITH THE CROUCH SHOT??? That photo is surely going to look really nice on my wall. I will be the proud owner of a Lucas original.

  3. 3 flashkube
    November 6, 2007 at 12:31 am

    RB: The beard was working out fine. Then one day while shaving I dared my self to shave into the beard. It was kind of a rush destroying something that took so long to make.

    DO: Hmm. I see an image of a guy holding a print and you see a croch shot. Hmm.

  4. 4 DO
    November 6, 2007 at 9:13 am

    CO pointed it out…:P


Leave a Reply

