28
Sep
07

Seeing

Subject matter is sparse, but not really. I’m feeling suffocated by what I see in my nine to five world. I drive the same streets every day and see the same structure and sky. Why do I expect to see photographs on those tired trails? What I want to capture is beyond the highway system and past the drainage ditches. What I want to capture is at once unique and unattainable. This “not seeing” must be what writer’s block feels like.

My frustration, though, speaks to my lack of experience. A seasoned photographer would be able to make intimate and meaningful images out of his everyday existence, out of his tired trails. The old photographer turned to his frustrated apprentice and said, “Shoot what you know, son. Shoot what you know.”

 

 

2 Responses to “Seeing”


  1. 1 rb
    October 3, 2007 at 10:08 am

    I like the short field of view. You should try and get some jobs on in St Pete…get some nice beach shots or palm lined roads.

  2. 2 DO
    October 12, 2007 at 12:23 am

    LMFAO he had to take the top picture that way so it appeared that it was natural that all his pool balls seemed to be one side on purpose. :) Dan i think it looks level in that picture :)


Leave a Reply

