10
Sep
07

Palmetto, FL

Today I drove down to Palmetto for a service call (my day job). While I was driving around town I found a marina with some nice clouds in the background. This was shot with my 50mm prime at 1/160, f/10 and ISO 100 handheld. I had to wait a while for the birds to move into the frame in that way. This image looks alright on the screen, but the print I made a few minutes ago is simply stunning.

The art of printmaking is an adventure on its own. I’ve finished Eddie Tapp’s “Practical Color Management” and am currently engrossed in Seinmueller and Gulbins’ “Fine Art Printing for Photographers.” There are a few more promising books on these subjects that will be published at the end of the month. I’ll post my thoughts on those as they come in. I’m in awe at how much there is to know.

There is some irony in my new appreciation of fine art printing. For years I’ve been telling everyone not to bother printing their photos because the album of the future will be on-screen only. The physical print was bound to go the way of the dodo. After making some prints of my own recent photographs, I realized that onscreen presentation is a mediocre format at best. To get the real effect of a great photograph it must be printed in a controlled way.

Don’t tell my wife, but I see a large format inkjet purchase on the horizon.

2 Responses to “Palmetto, FL”


  1. 1 Susan
    September 11, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Only if you pay for it with these photos! :)

  2. 2 DO
    September 11, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    After seeing him today, I was thinking about getting him a peace symbol button and some camo gear. I can see Dan as that guy in full metal jacket that ran around taking photos of everything. I guess the real question is when are you quitting your day job to take up photography full time?


Leave a Reply

