04
Sep
07

Portraits at f/1.8

I’m learning problems related to DOF with portraits at wide apertures. When the subject is looking directly at the lens, both eyes can be in sharp focus. If the head is turned slightly, focus ends up on a single eye. There is a balance that must be found, especially when there are two subjects—as the next batch will demonstrate. I was pretty happy with these.

The above photograph was edited in photoshop in order to get rid of large reflections in Cali’s eyes. After the removal, there was something very unsettling about the image. I went back in and added a small reflection in the center that corrected the problem. I find it interesting how tiny edits, just a few pixels in fact, can change the feeling of a photograph.  The original eyes are below.  If you look close enough you can see a self-portrait of me.

On another note: I’m currently deep into the art of color management in my workflow. Frankly, I’m pulling my hair out (and if you have seen me lately this won’t be noticeable). Is my monitor calibrated to my camera? Is the printer calibrated to the software? What about my eyes, do they need calibration? AHHHH. More on this later.

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Portraits at f/1.8”


  1. 1 rb
    September 5, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Quality work sir! Cute kids…Olivia is growing quick! I like the first picture of her…she looks like she just said, “Say what??”

  2. 2 DO
    September 5, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Thank god she looks like her mom! Look at her EYE’s good luck dad. I think you are going to need it. One question, in one pictures her eyes appear to be brilliant blue and in the others her eyes appear to be dark grey. WOW I didn’t know they made color contacts for kids that young! I like the second one where she appears to be saying “what??? you lookin at me punk?”

  3. 3 flashkube
    September 6, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Are you fucking with me DO? The first and fourth images are of Olivia’s cousin Cali who is 1 year old. WOW!! ;) The next batch will help you a little…

  4. 4 DO
    September 6, 2007 at 9:55 am

    That’s ok, I didn’t really catch my mistake. Mrs. DO saw my mistake this morning and after laughing for what I would could an eternity explained to me that I was wrong and then I remembered that another baby had infiltrated the Lucas’s home stead last weekend and that I was duped. At that point i was able to put 2 and 2 together (which by the way equals 5). I could have fixed my mistake if there was an edit button on this website. I think the problem is, that we haven’t seen Olivia for what seems like an eternity and (hehe) so I can’t seem to remember what she looks like in fact what do you look like?

    P.S. Don’t tell Susan! :) She might get made at me for not being able to tell Olivia from some other cute kid….

  5. 5 DO
    September 6, 2007 at 9:58 am

    damn another mistake and no damn edit button.

  6. 6 flashkube
    September 6, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Hah, no big deal. An edit button would make the comment system so boring. Although, if you login to wordpress I believe you can edit your own comments.

  7. 7 rb
    September 6, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    That’s messed UP DO! DL is just REALLY good at photoshop.

  8. 8 DO
    September 6, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Isn’t he though. I think they are the same kids he has just altered the picture to make her look older.


Leave a Reply

